Rory McIlroy rues two-shot penalty 

rory mcilroy 2

Rory McIlroy rues two-shot penalty as Spain’s Pablo Larrazabal edged to victory in the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship.

Larrazabal carded a final round of 67 to finish on 14-under par, one stroke ahead of McIlroy and Phil Mickelson.

McIlroy was handed the penalty after his third round on Saturday when it was ruled that he had taken an incorrect drop on the second hole.

Meanwhile, Mickelson’s chances of victory were ended on the 13th hole of his final round when he hit a triple-bogey seven after suffering a ‘double-hit’ when his ball struck a bush and bounced back on to his club.

The five wood at 18 is maybe the best shot of my golfing career.

Pablo Larrazabal

It was a fine win for Larrazabal though as he had to hole a five-foot birdie putt at the last to clinch his victory.

He said afterwards: “It feels great. Only me and my team know how much we’ve worked during the last three years.

“I want to thank so many people – my team and my girlfriend. It’s just unbelievable.

“The birdie at 13 gave me the confidence to keep it going and I hit great shots coming in. The five wood at 18 is maybe the best shot of my golfing career.”

McIlroy is 5/2 to win a Major in 2014 and can be backed at 9/1 to triumph at the Masters in April.

Full seasons Golf selections 

Current Live Golf Betting

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.